IANPHI Approves New Board Members

Five new members from Canada, Germany, Morocco, Tanzania and the United Kingdom have joined IANPHI's policy-making board. IANPHI members voted to add the newcomers to the 11-member Executive Board the 2011 Annual Meeting held recently in Helsinki, Finland.

New Executive Board members are:

David Butler Jones, Canada (chief public health officer, Public Health Agency of Canada)
Reinhard Burger, Germany (president, Robert Koch Institute)
Rajae El Aouad, Morocco (director, National Institute of Hygiene)
Mwele Ntuli Malecela, Tanzania (director-general, National Institute for Medical Research)
Justin McCracken, UK (chief executive, Health Protection Agency)

IANPHI is grateful to these retiring members of the EB and thanks them for their tireless energy and dedication to strengthening and linking the world's public health institutes: 

* Mohammed Hassar, Morocco (former director, Pasteur Institute)
* Tsehaynesh Messele, Ethiopia (former director, Ethiopian Health and Nutrition Institute)
* Pathom Sawanpanyalert, Thailand (director, National Institute of Health)
* Geir Stene-Larsen, Norway (director, Norweigian Institute of Public Health)
* Jane Wilde, Ireland (former director, Institute of Public Health)

The IANPHI Executive Board provides policy oversight from respected leaders of national public health institutes from around the world. Learn more about current and emeritus members of the Executive Board.